Science and Mechatronics Aided Research for Teachers with an Entrepreneurship Experience (SMARTER)


SMARTER selection committee has now completed the review of all applications submitted for the current cycle. We received many applications from highly qualified teachers from the five boroughs of New York, Long Island, and New Jersey. The selected finalists have been notified of the committee's decision by email and regular mail. The finalists are requested to complete and return a signed statement indicating their intent to participate in the SMARTER program (a copy of the statement has been sent to the finalists).

Thank you all for your time and effort in putting together competitive application packages.

Name Email
Hau-Yu Chu
Phillip Cook
Daniella Dilacqua
Ramona Victoria Fittipaldi
Marc Frank
Iulian Irimina
Brian Lam
Tchnavia D. Merrick
Brian Palacios
Lauren Schulman
Horace Walcott
YaQi Xiong
Name Email
Prasad Akavoor
Ulugbek Akhmedo
Lisa Ali
David Arnstein
Lee Hollman
Angeleke Lymberatos
Louis Morgan
Charisse Nelson
Yancey Quinones
Horace Walcott
Sarah Wigodsky
Michael Zitolo
Name Email
Kelly Brandon
Channa Comer
Timothy Dennis
Linda Dombi
Jason Econome
Alexa Goldstrom
Zulficar Habib
Charisse Nelson
Jigar Jadav
Jason Rann
Dwight Young
Peter Tsun
Name Email
Jeffrey S. Bernhardt
Ryan Cain
Rebecca R. Cruz
Mangapathi Rao Donthini
Seth Guinals-Kupperman
Russell Holstein
Mingyu Li
Hilary Garnet Mallar
Lindrick Outerbridge
Noam Pillischer
Name Email
Taufik Ayoub
Robert Jim Calungsod
Jason Farina
Matthew Fisher
Vanessa Geraldi
Donna Gobin
Russell Holstein
Marcia Samantia Moore
Jozef Pistek
Greg Sciame
Horace Walcott
Name Email School
Seth Akomah Joseph Cavallaro School
Toufik Ayoub Fort Hamilton High School
Leila Cohen Midwood High School
Jason Farina East Bronx Academy for the Future
Robert Gandolfo Plainedge High School
Mirlene Leveille Boys and Girls High School
Lindrick Outerbridge Philippa Schuyler Middle School
Henry Penna W. E. Grady High School
John Schineller Paul Schreiber High School
Tanya Wardally Boys and Girls High School
Name Email School
Thomas Byrne New Rochelle High School
Michael Francesco Tappan Zee High School
Fady Ishak Legacy High School
Cameron Jahn Midwood High School
Vera Mihalcik Marta Valle Secondary School
Robert Morris Clarkstown High School North
Carol Obler IS 49
Henry Penna W. E. Grady High School
Joseph Rodichok Smithtown High School
Rodolfo Vera IS 125 Woodside
The following teachers participated in the 2005 SMARTER program through the support of the NY State Department of Education under a Title IIB Math Science Partnership Grant as part of a Polytechnic University/Community School District 21 grant.
Michael Fishenfeld John Dewey High School
Joy Hinds Abraham Lincoln High School
Mustafa Kilic Brooklyn Amity School
James McMahon William E. Grady Technical High School
Joseph Renna Abraham Lincoln High School
Lennon Safe Edward R. Murrow High School
Douraine Stewart John Dewey High School
Name Email School
Ram Avni Middle College High School
Edward Gruber Eastchester High School
Amanda Gunning Harry S Truman High School
Lennox Henry Washington Irving High School
Michael Koumoullos Aviation High School
Denise McNamara High School for Health Professions and Human Services
Ronald Occhiogrosso HAFTR High and Middle School
Vincent Pereira Clarkstown North High School
Steven Scharf Francis Lewis High School
Robert Winston Canarsie High School
Ms. Dvora Geller of the New York City Museum School participated in the 2004 SMARTER program through the support of her school.
Name Email School
Richard Balsamel Science High School
Michelle Carpenter-Smith Pcker Collegiate Institute
Clay Davis Manhattan Comprehensive Night and Day High School
David Deutsch Manhattan Center for Science and Math High School
Paul Friedman Seward Park High School
Robert Gandolfo Plainedge High School
William Leacock W. C. Mepham High School
John Luvera Montville Township High School
Michael McDonnell Midwood High School
Marlene McGarrity The Christa Mc Auliffe School